Red Sharks FC


Tropics SC outlasts Utah Murcielagos to win UPSL National Final

Tropics SC becomes first UPSL Florida team to win UPSL Spring Championship
Published Jul 28, 2019

July 28, 2019 - Weatherford, Texas - Florida Tropics Soccer Club would not be denied its perfect season.

Down 2-0 until the 83rd minute, Keisuke Ohata and Victor Parreiras scored late goals to force overtime before toppling Utah Murcielagos in a shootout, 5-4, to win the 2019 UPSL Spring Season National Final at Kangaroo Stadium.

"We are very happy to have completed this journey," Tropics SC midfielder Victor Parreiras said. "It is a great feeling to win the UPSL. It is a great league with a lot great teams and great competition."

The victory capped the completion of an unblemished 18-0-0 Spring Season for Tropics SC, who were perfect throughout the UPSL Florida's Central Division regular season, the UPSL Florida playoffs and the UPSL's Southeast Conference playoffs before taking Texas by storm.

Florida Tropics SC is the first Florida-based club to be crowned UPSL champions.

"To go undefeated in any league is tough to do, I don't care where you're playing," Tropics SC center back Andrew Clare said.

Carlos Zamarripa gave Utah Murcielagos a first-half advantage, scoring his second highlight-reel goal of the tournament in the 38th minute. and Rafael Marguia Gonzalez added his second of the tournament in the 58th minute as Utah Murcielagos took a 2-0 lead, which it held until the game's final stanza.

Ohata, who had shown his skill in a brief flash in the UPSL National Semifinal win over MIlwaukee Bavarian SC, got on the end of a well-timed ball and slotted it home to give Tropics SC new energy in the 83rd minute.

Playing with the wind at its back, Tropics SC pressured Utah Murcielagos into turning the ball over a time too many, and Victor Parreiras willed his dribble deep into the attacking zone before beating the goalkeeper at close range to tie the game in the 91st minute.

Two periods of scoreless overtime led to kicks from the penalty spot to determine a winner, and after a back -and-forth effort, Tropics SC's Lucas Montelares ended it when he pushed the winner past Murcielagos goalkeeper Valetin Arredondo Casto in the sixth round of the shootout.